Freeing handles

so as a wanabee safe app maker I have been experimenting with safe web apps, but so far I completely ignored freeing handles.

I am studying some examples, and I notice that , for instance, the getMessages function in chaty by @Joseph_Meagher frees the entries and data handles at each call ( main.js , l 62-63 )

I am asking myself if it is important to free the handles each time they are used, which implies fetching them again at next call, thus stressing the network.
Could it be a good thing to store the handles for the whole session ? ( I mean, those that do not change , eg : appHandle ) I guess it implies either using higher scope variables or passing them to the functions that need them.

Could someone give some light on this ? thx :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Yes, it is better to keep those handles you would reuse for as long as you need them. Note that getting new handles doesn’t necessarily imply that there is a network activity, e.g. when you create a Mutation and apply mutations to it, this doesn’t go to the network until you actually apply the mutations to a MD.
As you point out, the appHandle is very likely to be needed for the whole app’s lifespan.

4 Likes

There’s also a danger, which I’m currently ignoring, that by not freeing them or keeping track of them :blush:, you gradually use up memory and things begin to break eventually.

I also think (awaiting correction) that there may be differences between using one part of the API and another (safe_nodejs / DOM / DOM safeNfs) in terms of network activity when calling a single API method. For example, some API methods may commit immediately, while others remain pending until the commit is triggered. I could be wrong about this!