JavaScript tips for using the SAFE API

Actually I was going to ask people here why we aren’t using ES6/ES7/ESNext whatever they’re calling it these days.

Since we’re using the beaker browser anyway you wouldn’t even need to transpile it, just use it directly on the site.

For example your code would change to:

async function sendMessage() {
  try {
    const mutationHandle = await window.safeMutableData.newMutation(auth)

const date = new Date()
    const time = date.getTime()

await window.safeMutableDataMutation.insert(mutationHandle, time.toString(), textarea.value)

await window.safeMutableData.applyEntriesMutation(mdHandle, mutationHandle)

Materialize.toast('Message has been sent to the network', 3000, 'rounded')
    window.safeMutableDataMutation.free(mutationHandle)
    getMutableDataHandle('getMessages')

textarea.value = ''
  } catch (err) {
    console.log(err)
  }
}
10 Likes

Thank you, that looks a lot cleaner and is probably much better practice, I am still learning JavaScript and this will be a great help for me as a reference.

Also @DavidMtl this style of coding looks to me like chained as well as being very readable and clean.

1 Like

Yep, I wrap my calls within another function.

Now that is some clean code. Is that working with the current API?

I agree, it’s fine this way and if we can use the example of @markwylde, that would be golden.

2 Likes

Yeah it’s a native javascript feature now. You can use it on most browsers:
https://caniuse.com/#feat=async-functions

Normally in web development you would use something like Babel or TypeScript that would convert your code back to ES5 for older browsers. But in the case of MaidSafe we can only use the beaker browser (please correct me if I’m wrong). The beaker browser uses chromium (Google Chrome) which has supported this for the last few months.

I’ve been playing around with MaidSafe the last few days and async functions have been working fine natively for me.

7 Likes