Maximum AppendOnlyData size

As the AppendOnlyData (AOD) is a continuation from the old MutableData, is the size limit for an AOD also 1 MiB? And is the amount of entries also still limited to 100?

If so, does this mean a website can not have more than 100 versions? If the AOD has reached its size limit, what happens? Is this AOD to be abandoned? Is there a protocol to find a new AOD?

1 Like

The limit for MD was raised to 1000 entries.

The design can’t limit AOD because of the issue you raise, but I’ll leave @Maidsafe to confirm that. It will be nice when we have an explainer about these with pictures to highlight the behaviour and conceptual structure! :slight_smile:

2 Likes

There are no limits for Mutable / AppendOnly data entries. :slight_smile:
The size is not limited to 1 MB as well.

6 Likes

Thanks for answering, @lionel.faber!

Is this just how it’s currently implemented or is this how it is envisioned to be?

I’m not an expert on the technical network fundamentals, but it does leave me with a few questions. Perhaps you could expand a bit more on the reasoning behind this choice to deviate from the earlier-set limits.
If an AOD/MD grows larger than 1 MiB, will this not strain vaults? As I’ve always understood Immutable Data is split into chunks for various reasons (performance, reliability, etc.). Wouldn’t an AOD of, say, 1 GiB bring one of these characteristics in danger?

2 Likes

It’s already implemented in this way @bzee

Your question is a valid one. The reasoning behind removing this limit was that even with the limit in place vaults could still be under strain / spam. Let me explain a bit: