No Authenticator pop-up in node.js "SAFE Desktop App Tutorial" tutorial

I’m going through the node.js SAFE Desktop App Tutorial and have run into an issue.

When I get to the following part it does not match what happens for me:

You should have had the Authenticator to show a pop-up with the authorisation request with the information of the application.

For me there is no pop-up in Peruse.

I have never programmed in JavaScript before, so I have no idea what I’m doing.

I tried breaking my code by removing a {, and then ran npm start, and it didn’t complain at all. So I’m suspecting that my code is not getting used for some reason. Anyone got any idea what could be going on?

I’m on Windows 10, if it matters.

Can you confirm that the first npm start under " Create basic skeleton" displayed a window as expected?

If that’s correct, where you are in the tutorial page and can you include a copy of your main.js file in your post?

1 Like

Yeah the window comes up, and it does that even if I remove some random } for instance, which I guess should bring about a syntax error? Don’t know if it does in JavaScript.

I am at the part that says:

You should have had the Authenticator to show a pop-up with the authorisation request with the information of the application.

I haven’t edited the main.js, it’s the same as in the git repo:

const electron = require('electron')
// Module to control application life.
const app = electron.app
// Module to create native browser window.
const BrowserWindow = electron.BrowserWindow

const path = require('path')
const url = require('url')

// Keep a global reference of the window object, if you don't, the window will
// be closed automatically when the JavaScript object is garbage collected.
let mainWindow

function createWindow () {
  // Create the browser window.
  mainWindow = new BrowserWindow({width: 800, height: 600})

// and load the index.html of the app.
  mainWindow.loadURL(url.format({